Submitting Quotes


    Applying for a job:

    1. View a job posting.
    2. Click the “Apply” button on the top right of the job posting.
    3. Follow the on-page instructions. Make sure to fill out all required fields.
    4. Click “Apply”.

    Viewing and editing your quote:

    1. Log into your freelancer account.
    2. Click the “Quotes” tab at the top of the screen.
    3. Review the list of jobs you’ve submitted a quote for.
    4. Click the dropdown arrow next to the job in question.
    5. Select “View/Edit Quote”.

    Submitting a premium proposal: Submitting a premium proposal will put your quote at the top of the employer’s list of quotes. It costs extra bids, dependent on your membership level:

    Basic Basic+ Professional Business Executive
    N/A N/A 6 Bids 5 Bids 4 Bids

     

    1. View a job posting.
    2. Click the “Apply” button on the top right of the job posting.
    3. Follow the on-page instructions. Make sure to fill out all required fields.
    4. When finished, choose check the “Get Noticed! Send a Premium Proposal” option.
    5. Click “Apply”.

    Using bids Bids are the currency used to apply for jobs. You spend your bids each time you apply for a job. Freelancers receive a limited number of bids with their membership. Subscribing members receive 50 bids per month (600 if you purchased an annual membership) and basic (free) members receive 10 bids per month. If you have used up all of your allotted bids you can still apply for jobs to which you are invited or you can buy more bids. Your membership bids will replenish at the beginning of each billing cycle. For Professional, Business, and Executive members, any unused bids from the previous billing cycle will rollover to the next. They’ll be limited to 100, 200 or 300 rollover bids a year, respectively. Your remaining bid count is listed at the top right corner of the Find Jobs section on your dashboard. You can also buy more bids and view your bidding statistics here. Purchasing more bids:

    1. Log into your freelancer account.
    2. Find your bid count next to the “Find Jobs” tile.
    3. Click “Buy More”.
    4. Follow on-screen instructions.

    Saving a quote template: To save time, you can craft quote templates to easily insert the outline of your normal quotes without typing it out each time.

    1. While applying for a job, create the template within the “Craft Your Proposal” window.
    2. Click the “Templates” dropdown when you’re finished.
    3. Click “Save as a new template”.
    4. Alternatively, navigate to the “Quotes” page from your dashboard
    5. From the “Quotes” page, click the “My Quote Templates” button.

    You can access the templates any time you’re submitting a quote by using the “Templates” dropdown. Editing a quote template:

    1. Log into your freelance account.
    2. Click the “Quotes” tab at the top of your dashboard.
    3. From the “Quotes” page, click “My Quote Templates” from the left sidebar.

    Understanding job statuses:

    Status Definition
    Apply You can apply for the job. If you’ve been invited to apply, “You’re invited.” will appear under the Apply button.
    Featured The employer paid to feature this job.
    Applied You already applied for the job and your proposal has been sent to the employer.
    Awarded The project has been closed and awarded to another guru. Closed jobs will not be listed on the search pages. You will see this status for jobs listed on your Proposals, Watch List, Job Matches and Job Invitations pages.
    Upgrade to apply The employer elected to allow only subscribing members apply.
    Invitation Declined The employer invited you to apply for the job and you have opted to decline the invitation. You can still apply for the job.
    Award Canceled The job was previously awarded to you and the employer has canceled the Project Award.
    Closed The job has been closed. Closed jobs will not be listed on the search pages. You will see this status for jobs listed in your Proposals, Watch List, Job Matches and Job Invitations.
    Deleted The job has been deleted. Deleted jobs will not be listed on the search pages. You will see this status for jobs listed in your Proposals, Watch List, Job Matches and Job Invitations.

    • View the job posting.
    • Scroll to the bottom of the page.
    • Look for the red flag and the “report” button.
    • Click “Report”.
    • Follow the on-screen instructions.